# Minutes Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO) Executive/Finance Committee

## Wednesday, April 10, 2024, 7:30 a.m.

## **Members Present:**

Jon Winkel, Chair Mayor Sergeant Bluff, Iowa Dan Moore, Vice Chair Council Member Sioux City. Iowa Woodbury County, Iowa Keith Radig, Secretary Supervisor Lance Hedguist, *Treasurer* City Administrator South Sioux City. Nebraska **Gary Bogenrief** Council Member North Sioux City. South Dakota Dan Bousquet Council Member South Sioux City, Nebraska Kelly Kreber Mavor Hinton, Iowa **Bob Padmore** Sioux City, Iowa City Manager

## **Staff and Guests Present:**

Joshua BushFinance DirectorSIMPCOCorinne EricksonRegional Planning ManagerSIMPCOBrian PearsonTransit Dir./Facilities Mngr.SIMPCO/SRTSSharon BurtonExecutive AssistantSIMPCO

Wesley Fopma Regional Director U.S. Rep. Randy Feenstra

Chair Jon Winkel called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. A quorum was in attendance.

**1. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:** Chair Winkel asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting agenda.

Lance Hedquist moved to approve the April 10, 2024 regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Kelly Kreber. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

**a.** March 13, 2024: Chair Winkel asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting minutes.

Dan Bousquet moved to approve the March 13, 2024 regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

- **3. DIRECTOR REPORT:** Executive Director Michelle Bostinelos provided an overview of the report included in the meeting packet. She reported Nate Kistner has been hired to fill the remaining open Regional Planner I position.
  - **a.** Annual Board of Directors Meeting: Ms. Bostinelos reported the annual meeting will be held at 5:30 p.m. on June 13, 2024, at the Cottonwood Conference Center, 4402 Dakota Avenue in South Sioux City, Nebraska. The guest speaker will be Karl Elmshaeuser, Executive Director of the Nebraska Environmental Trust. An award ceremony for members and a catered dinner will follow the meeting.

**b.** Ron Rapp Annual Award: Ms. Bostinelos reported the Ron Rapp award will be presented at the June 13, 2024 annual Board of Directors award ceremony. Members discussed criteria, past award winners and nominees. Staff will proceed with finalizing a selection.

#### 4. FINANCIAL UPDATE:

**a.** March 31, 2024 Financial Reports: Finance Director Joshua Bush provided an overview of the financial reports included in the meeting packet. Revenues for all SIMPCO Divisions total \$1,928,907 and expenditures \$1,423,623 for a balance of \$505,284 as of March 31, 2024.

Lance Hedquist moved to recommend to the Board of Directors approval of the March 31, 2024 financial reports as presented, seconded by Dan Bousquet Motion carried. [Unanimous]

### **5. OLD BUSINESS:**

- a. Job Description / New Administrative Position: As requested by members of the Executive/Finance Committee, Mr. Bush presented the job description for the newly created administrative position approved with the FY 2025 budget. He and Ms. Bostinelos discussed the assigned duties and responsibilities, noting the main focus of this position will be to take charge of the website and strengthen marketing. Discussion followed.
- 6. **COMMUNITY SERVICES CONTRACTS:** No contracts were presented at this meeting.
- 7. **BUILDING UPDATE:** Transit Director Brian Pearson reported the building closeout documents have been approved by the Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS) Board of Directors. In August a final construction inspection will be completed with the architect and engineer. The Federal Financial Report for the BUILD grant is being prepared and once finalized will be submitted to the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). Landscape installation is expected to begin in May.
- **8. OTHER COMMENTS:** The next meeting is tentatively scheduled to be held on Wednesday, May 8, 2024, at 7:30 a.m. in-person at SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa, with the Zoom option.
- **9. ADJOURNMENT:** Kelly Kreber moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Gary Bogenrief. Motion carried. [Unanimous] Chair Winkel adjourned the meeting at 8:13 a.m.