### Minutes

# SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) Wednesday, May 1, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

# **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Aaron Lincoln, Chair

Tom Rohe, Vice Chair

Gordon Phair

Mike Collett

Jason Allen

Mark Nahra

Lance Hedquist

City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Plymouth County, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport
City of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System
Woodbury County, Iowa
City of South Sioux City, Nebraska

Jeff Noteboom (Substitute for Jerry Buum)

Bob Kratky

Union County, South Dakota
Cit of Dakota City, Nebraska

## **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:**

Greg Heitmann
Sarah Gilkerson
Department of Transportation – SD
Jarrod Walker
Nebraska Dept. of Transportation
Travis Halm
Iowa Dept. of Transportation
Kaine McClelland
John Forman
Rick Allely
Ulteig

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Brian Pearson, Transit Director
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager
Dawn Kimmel, Regional Planner II
SIMPCO
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, May 1, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- **I.** Roll Call/Introductions: Chair Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II. Approval of the Agenda:** Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 1, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

**III.** Approval of the Minutes: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the March 6, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Regional Planning Manager, Corinne Erickson, provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Executive Director, Michelle Bostinelos, presented the TTC with the following amendments and modifications to the FY 2024-2027 TIP for recommendation to the policy board.
  - 1. Sioux City Transit System Heavy Duty Bus 40' Bus #1352 (TPMS 11140) programmed for a total estimated cost of \$639,300 with \$543,405 (Section 5339) needs to be deleted.
  - 2. Sioux City Transit System LoNo 50 KW mobile plug-in charger (TPMS #11168) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$70,000 with \$56,000 Federal participation (LoNo 5339) in FY 2024.
  - 3. Sioux City Transit System Install (2) Level II charging stations at MLK Jr. Parking Ramp (TPMS #11164) programmed for a total estimated cost of \$75,000 with \$60,000 (Section 5307) needs to be deleted.
  - 4. South Dakota DOT County pavement marking at various locations regionwide needs to be deleted from the program FY 2024-2027.

Mike Collet moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried all ayes.

- VII. FY 2025-2028 Draft MPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP): Regional Planner, Ryan Brauer, presented the TTC with the draft MPO TIP FY 2025-2028. Ryan asked the TAC to review the draft and submit any corrections, changes, additions, and/or deletions to staff on or before June 3, 2024. Ryan noted the public input meeting will be held on June 11, 2024, at the Sioux City Public Library from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m.
- VIII. Resolution 2024-14 FY 25 MPO Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP): Michelle Bostinelos presented the MPO TPWP FY 2024 in conformance with the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and each state's Department of Transportation.

Lance Hedguist left meeting.

Mark Nahra moved to approve Resolution 2024-14 as presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jason Allen:

aye; Mike Collett: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jeff Noteboom: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion passed (8:0).

**IX.** Resolution 2024-15 SIMPCO MPO Planning Boundary: Ryan Brauer presented the TTC with the adjusted Metropolitan Planning Area Boundary for the SIMPCO MPO.

Tom Rohe moved to approve Resolution 2024-15 as presented, seconded by Mark Nahra. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jeff Noteboom: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion passed (8:0).

X. Resolution 2024-16 Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP): Regional Planner II, Dawn Kimmel, presented the final FY 2025-2029 PTP. She discussed comments received from the DOT and public comment period.

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-15 as presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jeff Noteboom: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion passed (8:0).

XI. FY 2025 Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) and Policy Board Meeting Dates:
Michelle Bostinelos presented the TTC with the FY 2025 tentative meeting dates for both the TTC and Policy Board.

The TTC requested rescheduling the July TTC meeting date from July 10, 2024, to July 8, 2024, at 1:00 p.m.

Mike Collett moved to approve the meeting dates with the amendment to the July MPO TTC, meeting date, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

# **XII. Additional Comments:**

- TIP Public Input Meeting Tuesday, June 11, 2024, Sioux City Public Library Security National Bank Conference Room, 4:00 5:00 p.m.
- MPO TTC, Monday July 8th at 1:00 p.m.
- XIII. <u>Adjournment</u>: Mark Nahra moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Gordon Phair. Chair Lincoln closed the meeting at 2:55 p.m.