Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO)

Policy Board

Thursday, May 2, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Beaulieu, Chair

Keith Radig, Vice Chair

Mike Tokarczyk

Dakota Dunes CID, SD

Woodbury County, IA

Sioux City Transit System

Carol Schuldt

Craig Anderson Plymouth County, IA
Carol Clark City of Sergeant Bluff, IA
Julie Schoenherr City of Sioux City, IA
Kodi Benson City of North Sioux City, SD

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:

Wes Fopma Congressman Feenstra Office

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director SIMPCO

Brian Pearson, Transit Director SIMPCO/SRTS

Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, May 7, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. Chairman, Ken Beaulieu, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Roll Call: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- **II.** Approval of the Agenda: Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 2, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Keith Radig. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the March 7, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the minutes presented with correction to remove Ken Beaulieu from the attendee list as he was not present. Motion seconded by Keith Radig. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Regional Planning Manager, Corinne Erickson, provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Executive Director, Michelle Bostinelos, presented the following amendments and modifications to the FY 2024-2027 TIP. Michelle noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.
 - 1. Sioux City Transit System Heavy Duty Bus 40' Bus #1352 (TPMS 11140) programmed for a total estimated cost of \$639,300 with \$543,405 (Section 5339) needs to be deleted.
 - 2. Sioux City Transit System LoNo 50 KW mobile plug-in charger (TPMS #11168) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$70,000 with \$56,000 Federal participation (LoNo 5339) in FY 2024.
 - 3. Sioux City Transit System Install (2) Level II charging stations at MLK Jr. Parking Ramp (TPMS #11164) programmed for a total estimated cost of \$75,000 with \$60,000 (Section 5307) needs to be deleted.
 - 4. South Dakota DOT County pavement marking at various locations regionwide needs to be deleted from the program FY 2024-2027.

Keith Radig moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Motion carried all ayes.

- VII. FY 2025-2028 Draft MPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP): Regional Planner, Ryan Brauer, presented the Policy Board with the FY 2025-2028 Draft MPO TIP for review. Ryan asked the board to submit any corrections, changes, additions, and/or deletions to staff on or before June 3, 2024. Ryan noted that there will be a public input meeting on June 11th at 4:00 p.m. located at the Sioux City Public Library.
- VIII. Resolution 2024-14 FY 25 MPO Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP): Michelle Bostinelos presented the MPO TPWP FY 2025 in conformance with the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and each state's Department of Transportation. Michelle noted the TTC made a positive recommendation.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2024-14 as presented, seconded by Julie Schoenherr. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Carol Clark: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

IX. Resolution 2024-15 SIMPCO MPO Planning Boundary: Ryan Brauer presented the board with the updated SIMPCO MPO planning boundary.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2024-15 as presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Carol Clark: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

X. Resolution 2024-16 Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP): Michelle Bostinelos presented the final FY 2025-2029 PTP for approval. Michelle noted the TTC made a positive recommendation.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2024-16 as presented, seconded by Carol Clark. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Carol Clark: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

XI. <u>FY 2025 Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) and Policy Board Meeting Dates</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the board with the FY 2025 tentative meeting dates for both the TTC and Policy Board. Michelle noted one change from the TTC to move the July meeting from July 10, 2024, to July 8, 2024, at 1:00 p.m.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the meeting dates with correction to the July TTC meeting, seconded by Keith Radig. Motion carried all ayes.

XII. Additional Comments:

- TIP Public Input Meeting June 11, 2024, Sioux City Public Library, Security National Bank Conference Room, 4:00-5:00 p.m.
- Next Meeting July 11, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.
- **XIII.** <u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Clark moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Carol Schuldt. Chair Beaulieu closed the meeting at 2:35 p.m.