Minutes Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO) **Executive/Finance Committee**

Wednesday, June 12, 2024, 7:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Jon Winkel, Chair Mayor Sergeant Bluff, Iowa Keith Radig, Secretary Supervisor Woodbury County, Iowa Lance Hedguist, *Treasurer* City Administrator South Sioux City. Nebraska **Gary Bogenrief** Council Member North Sioux City. South Dakota Dan Bousquet Council Member South Sioux City, Nebraska Kelly Kreber Mayor Hinton, Iowa Mark Monson P & Z Commissioner Sergeant Bluff, Iowa

Staff and Guests Present:

Michelle Bostinelos **Executive Director** SIMPCO Joshua Bush **SIMPCO** Finance Director Corinne Erickson Regional Planning Manager SIMPCO Brian Pearson Transit Dir./Facilities Mngr. SIMPCO/SRTS **Executive Assistant** Sharon Burton **SIMPCO**

Wesley Fopma Regional Director U.S. Rep. Randy Feenstra

Chair Jon Winkel called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. A quorum was in attendance.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA: Chair Winkel asked if there were any additions or 1. corrections to the regular meeting agenda.

Lance Hedguist moved to approve the June 12, 2024 regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Dan Bousquet. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: 2.

a. April 10, 2024: Chair Winkel asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting minutes.

Kelly Kreber moved to approve the April 10, 2024 regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Lance Hedguist. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

- **DIRECTOR REPORT:** Executive Director Michelle Bostinelos provided an overview of the 3. report included in the meeting packet.
 - a. Annual Board of Directors Meeting: Ms. Bostinelos reported the annual meeting will be held at 5:30 p.m. on June 13, 2024, at the Cottonwood Conference Center, 4402 Dakota Avenue in South Sioux City, Nebraska. The guest speaker will be Karl Elmshaeuser, Executive Director of the Nebraska Environmental Trust. An award ceremony for members and a catered dinner will follow the meeting.

Ms. Bostinelos noted the Board of Directors annual meeting for next year (June of 2025) will include recognition of SIMPCO's 60 year anniversary. Since a bigger event will be held to celebrate this milestone, the date may be moved to later in June so it is more conducive to the schedule of Siouxland Legislators.

b. Missouri River Recovery Implementation Committee (MRRIC) Primary Representative Endorsement for Water Supply, Michelle Bostinelos:

Ms. Bostinelos reported her three-year term as SIMPCO's primary representative on MRRIC for Water Supply expires on September 30, 2024. MRRIC requires incumbent members renewing their appointment to submit a renewal request letter and an endorsement letter from their constituent group.

c. Missouri River Recovery Implementation Committee (MRRIC) Alternate Representative Endorsement for Water Supply, Gary Bogenrief:

Ms. Bostinelos reported the alternate representative on MRRIC for Water Supply is currently vacant. Gary Bogenrief is interested in serving and an application requesting his appointment is being prepared for submittal to MRRIC. A letter of endorsement from the constituent group is required as part of the application.

Lance Hedquist moved to recommend to the Board of Directors approval for the Board of Directors Chair, Jon Winkel, to sign both letters as presented in the meeting packet, seconded by Keith Radig. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

4. FINANCIAL UPDATE:

a. April 30 / May 31, 2024 Financial Reports: Finance Director Joshua Bush provided an overview of the financial reports included in the meeting packet. Revenues for all SIMPCO Divisions total \$2,253,651 and expenditures \$1,747,020 for a balance of \$506,631 as of May 31, 2024.

Lance Hedquist moved to recommend to the Board of Directors approval of the May 31, 2024 financial reports as presented, seconded by Mark Monson. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

- **b.** Investments: Mr. Bush brought forward for discussion changing SIMPCO investments to go through the Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust (IPAIT). He noted last year investments were started with Treasury Bills for SIMPCO and Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS). However, the SRTS Board of Directors are interested in changing and going through IPAIT and staff would like to have investments the same for both organizations. Discussion followed on investment options and the difference in flexibility, rates and service fees. The Committee requested staff bring this item back as action in August.
- c. Overtime Exempt vs Non-Exempt Changes: Mr. Bush brought forward for discussion the new rule released by the Department of Labor (DOL) effective July 1, 2024 that increased the minimum salary level for exempt status, and the additional increase included in the ruling that is scheduled to go into effect January 1, 2025. He noted the current threshold does not affect the current salary schedule and the 2025 increase is being challenged. Staff plans to follow DOL's increase updates and reexamine salaries, if needed.

- **5. FY 2025 INSURANCE RENEWALS:** Finance Director Joshua Bush discussed the following insurance renewals.
 - **a.** Auto Owners (Property and Liability, Business Auto, Umbrella): Mr. Bush referred to the breakdown of renewal coverage and premium cost comparisons included in the meeting packet. Staff recommendation is to continue all coverages as presented for the policy term of June 30, 2024 through June 30, 2025.
 - **b.** Cyber/Crime: Mr. Bush referred to the breakdown of renewal coverage and premium cost comparison included in the meeting packet. Discussion followed. Members suggested a subcommittee meet with insurance underwriters to thoroughly review the policy so everyone understands what is actually covered and to assure adequate coverages are in place. If the subcommittee meeting determines changes are needed to the policy presented, a special Finance Committee meeting will be held to approve. Mr. Bush noted policy renewal is due June 30, 2024.

Lance Hedquist moved to recommend to the Board of Directors renewal of both policies with cyber/crime subject to determination of the subcommittee meeting, seconded by Dan Bousquet. No further discussion. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

- **6. COMMUNITY SERVICES CONTRACTS:** Ms. Bostinelos provided an overview of the contracts presented for approval.
 - **a.** Iowa Department of Transportation, Rural Transportation Planning: FHWA SPR \$55,201, FTA 5311 \$29,576, STBG \$46,800, Total \$131,577, July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025
 - **b.** Iowa Department of Transportation, Urban Transportation Planning: FHWA PL \$353,247, FTA 5305d \$171,304, Total \$524,551, July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025
 - c. Nebraska Department of Transportation, Urban Transportation Planning: FHWA PL \$82,186, July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025
 - **d.** South Dakota Department of Transportation, Urban Transportation Planning: FHWA PL \$73,104 Federal, July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025

Mark Monson moved to recommend to the Board of Directors approval of contracts a. through d. as presented, seconded by Lance Hedguist. Motion carried. [Unanimous]

- **7. OTHER COMMENTS:** The next meeting is tentatively scheduled to be held on Wednesday, August 14, 2024, at 7:30 a.m. in-person at SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa, with the Zoom option.
- **8. ADJOURNMENT:** Dan Bousquet moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Motion carried. [Unanimous] Chair Winkel adjourned the meeting at 8:42 a.m.