Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO)

Transportation Technical Committee (TTC)

Monday, July 8, 2024, 1:00 p.m.

IMPCO 6401 Gordon Drivo Sigur City IA 8 700m Confor

SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aaron Lincoln, Chair

Tom Rohe, Vice Chair

Gordon Phair

Jill Wanderscheid

City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Plymouth County, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa

Mike Collett

Andrew Tramp

Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota

Jason Allen

City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport

Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota

City of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System

Mark Nahra Woodbury County, Iowa

Lance Hedquist City of South Sioux City, Nebraska
Jerry Buum Union County, South Dakota

Andrew Nilges City of North Sioux City, South Dakota

Bob Kratky City of Dakota City, Nebraska

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Dakin SchultzFederal Highway Administration - IAGreg HeitmannFederal Highway Administration - SDSarah GilkersonDepartment of Transportation - SDCraig WackerFederal Highway Administration - NEJessica FelixIowa Department of TransportationGreg YouellMAPA Council of Governments

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Brian Pearson, Transit Director
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant
SIMPCO

The TTC met on Monday, July 8, 2024, 1:00 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

- **I.** Roll Call/Introductions: Chair Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II.** Approval of the Agenda: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the July 8, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Gordon Phair moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Motion carried all ayes.

III. Approval of the Minutes: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 1, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the meeting minutes with correction to Kaine McClelland listed as DOT/SD. Minutes should reflect Kaine McClelland with DOT/NE. Spelling correction for Bob Kratky with the city of Dakota City. Motion with corrections seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Michelle Bostinelos provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- **V.** <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the TTC with the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP for review and positive recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - A. Iowa DOT safety project/pavement markings on I-29 Monona County to Sergeant Bluff needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$437,500 with \$393,750 Federal participation (HSIP) in FY 2024.
 - B. Iowa DOT bridge repair project I-129 Missouri River in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$9,500,000 with \$7,600,000 Federal participation (NHPP) in FY 2024

Mark Nahra moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Motion carried all ayes.

- **VII.** FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) final Approval: Ryan Brauer presented the final FY 2025-2028 TIP for recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - A. Resolution 2025-1 Approval of the FY 2025-2028 TIP

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2025-1 as presented, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. (9:0) Motion carried.

B. Resolution 2025-2 Self-Certification of the MPO Transportation Planning Process – Resolution certifying that the planning process in the Sioux City Metropolitan Planning Area is being carried out in conformance with all applicable Federal requirements.

Mark Nahra moved to approve Resolution 2025-2 as presented, seconded by Mike Collett. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. (9:0) Motion carried.

TOM ROHE ENTERED THE MEETING

C. Resolution 2025-3 Project Development Sioux City Transit System – Resolution certifying that the City of Sioux City/Transit System has fulfilled their planning obligations in the development of the TIP.

Jason Allen moved to approve Resolution 2025-3 as presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye; Tom Rohe: aye. (10:0) Motion carried.

D. Resolution 2024-4 Certification of Compliance: Statement of Financial Capacity
Analysis – Resolution certifying that the MPO Transportation Improvement Program FY
2025-2028 for the Sioux City Metropolitan Area is prepared in accordance with the
requirement of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA)

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-4 as presented, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye; Tom Rohe: aye. (10:0) Motion carried.

VIII. Resolution 2024-5 Transit Safety Performance Targets: Michelle Bostinelos presented the Transit Safety Performance Targets for Sioux City Transit System for approval.

Lance Hedquist moved to approve Resolution 2024-5 as presented, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye; Tom Rohe: aye. (10:0) Motion carried.

IX. Additional Comments:

- Next Meeting Wednesday, September 4, 2024
- Upcoming Meetings
 - o November 6, 2024
 - o January 8, 2025
 - o March 5, 2025
 - o May 7, 2025
- **X.** <u>Adjournment</u>: Mark Nahra moved to adjourn, seconded by Jason Allen. Chair Lincoln closed the meeting at 1:45 p.m.