### Minutes

## SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Policy Board Thursday, July 11, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Ken Beaulieu, Chair Keith Radig, Vice Chair Mike Tokarczyk Carol Schuldt Craig Anderson Andrea Johnson *(Substitute for Carol Clark)* Mike Dailey Dan Moore Kodi Benson Dakota Dunes CID, SD Woodbury County, IA Sioux City Transit System City of South Sioux City, NE Plymouth County, IA City of Sergeant Bluff, IA Union County, SD City of Sioux City, IA City of North Sioux City, SD

#### **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:**

Travis Halm John Forman

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Brian Pearson, Transit Director Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant Iowa Department of Transportation - IA Ulteig

SIMPCO SIMPCO/SRTS SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, July 11, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. Chairman, Ken Beaulieu, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. <u>Roll Call</u>: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- **II.** <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the July 11, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Kodi Benson. Motion carried all ayes.

**III.** <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 2, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Keith Radig. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV.** <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Corinne Erickson provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP for approval. Michelle noted that the TTC made a positive recommendation.
  - A. Iowa DOT safety project/pavement markings on I-29 Monona County to Sergeant Bluff needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$437,500 with \$393,750 Federal participation (HSIP) in FY 2024.
  - B. Iowa DOT bridge repair project I-129 Missouri River in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$9,500,000 with \$7,600,000 Federal participation (NHPP) in FY 2024.

Dan Moore moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Kodi Benson. Motion carried all ayes.

- VII. <u>FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Final Approval</u>: Ryan Brauer presented the final FY 2025-2028 TIP for approval. Ryan noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval on the following resolutions.
  - A. Resolution 2025-1 Approval of the FY 2025-2028 TIP

Craig Anderson moved to approve Resolution 2025-1 as presented, seconded by Carol Schuldt. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Motion carried (8:0)

# MIKE DAILEY ENTERED THE MEETING

B. <u>Resolution 2025-2 Self Certification of the MPO Transportation Planning Process</u> – Resolution certifying that the planning process in the Sioux City Metropolitan Planning Area is being carried out in conformance with all applicable Federal requirements.

Dan Moore moved to approve Resolution 2025-2 as presented, seconded by Keith Radig. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Mike Daily: aye. Motion carried (9:0) C. <u>Resolution 2025-3 Project Development Sioux City Transit System</u> – Resolution certifying that the City of Sioux City/Transit System has fulfilled their planning obligations in the development of the TIP.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2025-4 as presented, seconded by Mike Tokarczyk. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Mike Daily: aye. Motion carried (9:0)

D. <u>Resolution 2024-4 Certification of Compliance: Statement of Financial Capacity</u> <u>Analysis</u> – Resolution certifying that the MPO Transportation Improvement Program FY 2025-2028 for the Sioux City Metropolitan Area is prepared in accordance with the requirement of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).

Kodi Benson moved to approve Resolution 2024-4 as presented, seconded by Mike Tokarczyk. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Mike Daily: aye. Motion carried (9:0)

VIII. <u>Resolution 2024-5 Transit Safety Performance Targets</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the Transit Safety Performance Targets for Sioux City Transit System for approval by the MPO. Michelle noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Craig Anderson moved to approve Resolution 2024-5 as presented, seconded by Andrea Johnson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Kodi Benson: aye. Mike Daily: aye. Motion carried (9:0)

# IX. Additional Comments:

- Next meeting Thursday, September 5, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.
- Upcoming meetings
  - o November 7, 2024
  - o January 9, 2024
  - o March 6, 2024
  - o May 8, 2024
- **X.** <u>Adjournment</u>: Craig Anderson moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mike Dailey. Meeting adjourned at 2:03 p.m.