Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Policy Board Thursday, September 5, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Beaulieu, Chair	Da
Craig Anderson	Ply
Kodi Benson	Cit
Andrea Johnson (Substitute for Carol Clark)	Cit
Mike Dailey	Un
Julie Schoenherr	Cit
Carol Schuldt	Cit
Mike Tokarczyk	Sic

Dakota Dunes CID, SD Plymouth County, IA City of North Sioux City, SD City of Sergeant Bluff, IA Union County, SD City of Sioux City, IA City of South Sioux City, NE Sioux City Transit System

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:

Sarah Gilkerson Jessica Felix Travis Halm Jarrod Walker Greg Heitmann Kaylee Sands John Forman Department of Transportation – SD Department of Transportation - IA Department of Transportation – IA Department of Transportation - NE Federal Highway Administration – SD Federal Transit Administration / Region 7 Ulteig

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director	SIMPCO
Brian Pearson, Transit Director	SIMPCO/SRTS
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager	SIMPCO
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant	SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, September 5, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. Chairman, Ken Beaulieu, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Roll Call: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- **II.** <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 5, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Mike Tokarczyk. Motion carried all ayes. **III.** <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the July 11, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Carol Schuldt. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV.** <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Corinne Erickson provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment to the FY 2024-2027 TIP. Michelle noted that the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.
 - Iowa DOT project I-29 Pavement Markings from Monona County to Sergeant Bluff (TPMS #55585) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$666,586 with \$599,927 Federal participation (HSIP) in FY 2024
 - Iowa DOT project U.S. Highway 75 Pavement Plaining from U.S. 20 Interchange to north of Co. Road C80 (TPMS #54685) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$2,030,454 with \$1,624,363 (CRP) in FY 2024.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Mike Dailey. Motion carried all ayes.

- VII. <u>FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Administrative Modification</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following administration modification to the FY 2025-2028 TIP as information only.
 - a) West Street Bridge Replacement (TPMS #53079) in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$1,500,000 with 100% Federal participation (HBP) in FY 2025.
- VIII. <u>Resolution 2025-6 FY 2025-2029 Passenger Transportation Plan Amendment (PTP)</u> <u>Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented amendments regarding capital infrastructure investments for Siouxland Regional Transit system (SRTS) to the FY 2025-2029 PTP. She noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Craig Anderson moved to approve Resolution 2025-6, seconded by Mike Dailey. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Kodi Benson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (7:0).

IX. <u>Resolution 2025-7 FY 2025 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)</u>

<u>Amendment</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment to the FY 2025 TPWP. She noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

a) Intersection Crossing Study on Dakota Avenue in South Sioux City needs to be added to the Complete Streets Set Aside Work Element for a total cost of \$3,338 with 100% Federal participation.

Mike Tokarczyk moved to approve Resolution 2025-7, seconded by Mike Dailey. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Kodi Benson: aye; Andrea Johnson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (7:0).

Julie Schoenherr entered the meeting.

- X. <u>Public Participation Plan (PPP) Administrative Modifications</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the administrative modifications to the PPP as information only. Michelle reviewed the administrative updates and language additions with the board.
- XI. <u>2050 Long Range Transportation Plan Schedule</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the schedule for updating the MPO 2050 LRTP as information only.

Kodi Benson left the meeting.

XII. Additional Comments:

- Next Meeting Thursday, November 7, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.
- Upcoming Meetings
 - o January 9, 2025
 - o March 6, 2025
 - o May 8, 2025
- XIII. <u>Adjournment</u>: *Craig Anderson moved to adjourn, seconded by Mike Tokarczyk*. Chair Beaulieu closed the meeting at 2:40 p.m.