Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO)

Transportation Technical Committee (TTC)
Wednesday, September 4, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.
SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aaron Lincoln, Chair

Tom Rohe, Vice Chair

Gordon Phair

Jill Wanderscheid

City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Plymouth County, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa

Mike CollettCity of Sioux City, Iowa/AirportAndrew TrampDakota Dunes CID, South DakotaJason AllenCity of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System

Mark Nahra Woodbury County, Iowa

Lance Hedquist City of South Sioux City, Nebraska
Jerry Buum Union County, South Dakota

Andrew Nilges City of North Sioux City, South Dakota

Bob Kratky City of Dakota City, Nebraska

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Greg Heitmann Federal Highway Administration – SD
Sarah Gilkerson Department of Transportation – SD
Jarrod Walker Department of Transportation – NE
Kane McClelland Department of Transportation - NE

John Forman Ulteig

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director

Brian Pearson, Transit Director

Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner

Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner

Bess Seaman, Regional Planner

SIMPCO

SIMPCO

SIMPCO

Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant

SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, September 4, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via in person, at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, and via zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- **I.** Roll Call/Introductions: Chair Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II.** Approval of the Agenda: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 4, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried all ayes.

III. Approval of the Minutes: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the July 8, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the meeting minutes presented, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Michelle Bostinelos provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- **V.** <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- **VI.** <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP for positive recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - a. Iowa DOT project I-29 Pavement Markings from Monona County to Sergeant Bluff (TPMS #55585) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$666,586 with \$599,927 Federal participation (HSIP) in FY 2024.
 - b. Iowa DOT project U.S. Highway 75 Pavement Plaining from U.S. 20 Interchange to north of Co. Road C80 (TPMS #54685) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$2,030,454 with \$1,624,363 (CRP) in FY 2024.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

- **VII.** FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Administrative Modification: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following administrative modification to the FY 2025-2028 TIP as information only.
 - a. West Street Bridge Replacement (TPMS #53079) in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$1,500,000 with 100% Federal participation (HBP) in FY 2025.

Lance Hedquist left the meeting.

VIII. Resolution 2025-6 FY 2025-2029 Passenger Transportation Plan Amendment (PTP)

Amendments: Michelle Bostinelos and Brian Pearson presented and discussed the amendments regarding capital infrastructure investments for Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS) to the FY 2025-2029 PTP, requesting a positive recommendation to the Policy Board.

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2025-6, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (11:0).

- IX. Resolution 2025-7 FY 2025 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)
 Amendment: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2025
 TPWP for positive recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - a. Intersection Crossing Study on Dakota Ave in South Sioux city needs to be added to the Complete Streets Set Aside Work Element for a total cost of \$3,338 with 100% Federal participation.

Bob Kratky moved to approve Resolution 2025-7, seconded by Gordon Phair. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Andrew Nilges: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (11:0).

- **X.** Public Participation Plan (PPP) Administrative Modifications: Michelle Bostinelos presented a summary of the administrative modifications to the PPP for information only. Michelle noted the updated information and language additions.
- **XI.** <u>2050 Long Range Transportation Plan Schedule</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the schedule for updating the MPO 2050 LRTP for information only.

XII. Additional Comments:

- Next Meeting: Wednesday, November 6, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.
- Upcoming Meetings:
 - o January 8, 2025
 - o March 5, 2025
 - o May 7, 2024
- **XIII.** Adjournment: Mark Nahra moved to adjourn, seconded by Gordon Phair. Chair Aaron Lincoln closed the meeting at 2:30 p.m.