Western Iowa Community Improvement Regional Housing Trust Fund Board of Directors

Minutes

Thursday, January 23, 2025 11:15 a.m.

6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa & via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Dave Dietrich, Woodbury County Doug Manley, Plymouth County Scott Brekke, Woodbury County Devlun Whiteing, Ida County Rita Frahm, Ida County Robert Meyer, Monona County Vince Phillips, Monona County Melissa Beermann, Onawa

GUESTS PRESENT:

Wes Fopma, Congressman Feenstra Office

SIMPCO STAFF:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director, SIMPCO Josh Bush, Finance Director, SIMPCO Jenny Anderson, Housing Manager, SIMPCO Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant, SIMPCO

The WICIRHTF Board of Directors met on Thursday, January 23, 2025, via Zoom and in person in the SIMPCO Board Room, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. The meeting was called to order at 11:15 a.m. by SIMPCO Executive Director Michelle Bostinelos.

- 1. **Approval of the Agenda** –Michelle Bostinelos asked the board if there were any additions or corrections to the January 23, 2025, meeting agenda.
 - Vince Phillips moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Dave Dietrich. Motion carried all ayes.
- 2. **Approval of the Minutes –** Michelle Bostinelos asked the board if there were any additions or corrections to the September 26, 2024, meeting minutes as presented.
 - Devlun Whiteing moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Dave Dietrich. Motion carried all ayes.
- 3. Board Composition/Board Appointments -

a. **Board Composition** – Michelle reported that the bylaws stipulate a maximum of 10 board members. Currently, the WICIRHTF board has 12 members. A discussion was held to amend the bylaws to reflect 10 voting members and 2 nonvoting members to comply with the current bylaws.

Jenny Anderson noted that the bylaws state the number of directors shall be no fewer than six and no greater than 10. Additionally, the bylaws require that no more than half of the directors be public officials representing local government, and no less than half of the directors be from the private sector and not public officials.

Melissa Beerman commented that she would transition to a nonvoting member. The board discussed that the vacant spot for a private member (Mid Sioux / Monona) will also become a nonvoting position.

Devlun Whiteing motioned to amend the board composition to 10 voting members with 2 nonvoting members. The motion was seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried all ayes.

b. **Board Appointments** –

- i. Melissa Beermann
- ii. Doug Manley
- iii. Dave Dietrich
- iv. Shane Bellefy

Scott Brekke moved to approve the board appointments as presented, seconded by Dave Dietrich. Motion carried all ayes.

4. Officer Elections – Michelle Bostinelos opened nominations for Chair and Vice Chair.

Devlun moved to nominate Vince Phillips as board chair and Devlun Whiteing as Vice Chair. Nomination seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried all ayes.

5. Updates -

a. Housing Manager Report – SIMPCO Housing Manager Jenny Anderson provided an update to the board on the current project and applicant status within the service areas of Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth, and rural Woodbury counties. She reported that since the September 2024 meeting, 8 repair projects have been completed. Additionally, there is 1 project out of bid, 7 applications in process, and 1 project currently out for bid. Jenny also noted that 26 homes have been assisted through the 23-HTF-11 grant, with a remaining balance of \$82,415 and a local match balance of \$53,470. Furthermore, \$381,698 has been awarded to the housing trust fund through grant 24-HTF-25, with no funds spent yet.

 Financial Updates – SIMPCO Finance Director Josh Bush presented the board with the financials through December 31, 2024, included in the agenda packet. He reported total revenue YTD as \$292,779 and total expenditure as \$232,967 for a net of \$59,812.

Scott Brekke moved to approve the housing manager report and financials as presented, seconded by Devlun Whiteing. Motion carried all ayes.

The newly elected Chair, Vince Phillips, proceeded to run the meeting.

6. **Code of Conduct and Ethics** – Jenny Anderson presented the Code of Conduct / Code of Ethics to each board member, requesting that they read and sign the agreement. This ensures the efficient, fair, and professional administration of local, state, and federal grant funds, in compliance with 24 CFR Part 85 (85.36(b)(3)) and other applicable federal, state, and local standards, regulations, and laws.

Scott Brekke moved to approve the Code of Conduct and Ethics, seconded by Doug Manley. Motion carried all ayes.

7. Other Comments -

- a. Next Meeting March 27, 2025 at 11:15 a.m.
- 8. **Adjournment** Dave Dietrich motioned to adjourn, seconded by Scott Brekke. Meeting adjourned at 11:51 a.m.