SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA) Policy Board Minutes Thursday, January 23, 2025, 2024, 9:30 a.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa and via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Doug Manley Shane Bellefy Devlun Whiteing Vince Phillips Brad Pick Plymouth County, Iowa Cherokee County, Iowa Ida County, Iowa Monona County, Iowa City of Le Mars, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS/GUESTS PRESENT:

Sarah Tracy Kaylee Sands Will Fopma Luke Hoffman Annamarie Gustavson Department of Transportation – IA Federal Transit Administration Congressman Feenstra Office Iowa Bicycle Coalition KTIV

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager Brian Pearson, Transit Director Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO/SRTS SIMPCO SIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Policy Board met on Thursday, January 23, 2025, at 9:30 a.m. via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present.

Secretary Michelle Bostinelos called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>: Secretary, Michelle Bostinelos, asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting agenda of January 23, 2025.

Devlun Whiteing moved to approve the regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried with all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u>: Secretary, Michelle Bostinelos, asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 21, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Brad Pick moved to approve the regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Devlun Whiteing. Motion carried with all ayes.

III. <u>Officer Election</u>: Secretary, Michelle Bostinelos, opened nominations for Board Chair and Vice Chair. Michelle noted both Keith Radig, Chair, and Gary Horton, Vice Chair, are no longer on the board. Devlun Whiteing moved to nominate Vince Phillips as Vice Chair. Vince Phillips moved to nominate Devlun Whiteing as Vice Chair. Devlun Whiteing moved to cease nominations.

Doug Manley moved to approve the nominations presented and discussed, seconded by Brad Pick. Motion carried all ayes.

- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence</u>: Corinne Erickson presented pertinent information on projects and activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet since the November 21, 2024, meeting.
- V. <u>**Transportation Improvement Progress Report**</u>: Policy Board members and staff provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the region.
- VI. <u>FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments and</u> <u>Administrative Modifications</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following to the FY 2025-2028 TIP for consideration of approval. Michelle noted the TAC made a position recommendation.
 - 1. Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS) bus storage facility in Le Mars and expansion of the current facility in Sioux City (TPMS #11623) for a total estimated cost of \$12,000,000 with \$9,600,000 Federal participation (Section 5339) in FY 2025.
 - 2. Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS) Bus Storage Facility in Le Mars and expansion of the current facility in Sioux City (TPMS #11600) for a total estimated cost of \$12,000,000 with full Federal participation (RAISE) in FY 2025.

Devlun Whiteing moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Brad Pick. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. **Pavement Data Collection Off-Cycle Data Opt-In**: Michelle Bostinelos presented an opportunity to opt into the next off-cycle Iowa DOT data collection using Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) funds. She noted that data is collected every four years, with new opportunities to opt in every two years. Michelle also reported that the next data collection year will be 2026. She noted the TAC made a recommendation to not opt-in.

Devlun Whiteing moved to wait until 2026 to receive the data at no cost, instead of opting in to receive the data early. Motion seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried all ayes.

VIII. <u>Guest Speaker: Luke Hoffman, Executive Director, Iowa Bicycle Coalition</u>: Michelle introduced Luke Hoffman, the guest speaker from the Iowa Bicycle Coalition. Luke elaborated on the coalition's initiatives and emphasized an upcoming study on the economic and health impacts of cycling and trails, scheduled for release on July 25th. He noted that this study is a continuation of the 2012 study, which highlighted the indirect economic benefits of recreational riding on the state. Luke explained

the significance of the study, detailing its timeline and phases. He also encouraged those interested in partnering with the coalition to reach out to him.

- IX. <u>Additional Comments</u>: Next Meeting: Thursday, March 27, 2025, at 9:30 a.m. Tentative Meeting Dates:
 - May 22, 2025
 - June 26, 2025
- X. <u>Adjournment</u> Vince Phillips moved to adjourn, seconded by Devlun Whiteing. Meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.