SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA) Policy Board

Minutes

Thursday, November 21, 2024, 2024, 9:30 a.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa and via Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Gary Horton, Chair

Keith Radig, Vice Chair

Bryan Petersen

Devlun Whiteing

Vince Phillips

Brad Pick

Plymouth County, Iowa

Woodbury County, Iowa

Cherokee County

Ida County, Iowa

Monona County, Iowa

City of LeMars, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS/GUESTS PRESENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager SIMPCO

Brian Pearson, Transit Director SIMPCO/SRTS

Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner SIMPCO
Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant SIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Policy Board met on Thursday, November 21, 2024, at 9:30 a.m. via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present.

Vice-Chair Keith Radia called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

- I. <u>Introductions</u>: Vice Chair, Keith Radig.
- II. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>: Vice-Chair Raid asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting agenda of November 21, 2024.

Keith Radig moved to approve the regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried with all ayes.

- III. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u>: Vice-Chair Radig asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 26, 2024, regular meeting minutes.
 - Gary Horton moved to approve the regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Brian Petersen. Motion carried with all ayes.
- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence</u>: Corinne Erickson discussed presented pertinent information on projects and activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet since the September 26, 2024 meeting.
- Transportation Improvement Progress Report: Policy Board members and staff provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently

underway throughout the region. The following amendments and modifications were brought forward for review and approval.

1. Brian Pearson discussed Siouxland Regional Transit System needs to program the installation of cameras on 41 buses and 2 vans, bus storage and shop floor scrubber and remove new forklift (TMS #10988) for total estimated cost of \$215,000 with \$172,000 Federal participation (STBG) in FY 2025.

Keith Radig moved to approve amendment to the SRTS (TMS #10988), seconded by Brian Petersen. Motion carried with all ayes.

VII. Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG)/Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Deadlines and Application Process. Ryan Brauer provided a summary of the application process for the STBG/TAP and proposed deadline for the next application round included in the meeting packet. He noted Tac positive recommended the Policy Board approve the dates for distribution of application materials for the fiscal year 2025, Iowa STBG program on January 17, 2024 with applications due back to SIMPCO on February 14, 2024

Brian Petersen moved to approve dates as presented, seconded Vance Phillips. Motion carried all ayes.

VIII. <u>Resolution 2025-4 Approval of MPO/RPA Planning Boundary-</u> Ryan Brauer provided the Policy Board with a summary of planning boundary of the SIMPCO MPO and the Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association (SRTPA-RPA4) included in the meeting packet. Ryan noted the final document was positive recommendation from TAC for approval from Policy Board.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2025-4 as presented, seconded by Kelly Brian Petersen. Roll call vote: Gary Horton: aye; Brian Petersen: aye Vance Phillips: aye; Brad Pick: aye; Keith Radig aye; Devlun Whiteing: aye;. Motion carried (6:0).

IX. Resolution 2050-5 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Final: Nate Kistner presented the Final 2050 LRTP included in the meeting packet. Nate request motion to approve the Final Long Rang Transportation Plan.

Vance Phillips moved to approve Resolution 2050-5 as presented, seconded by Brian Petersen. Roll call vote: Gary Horton: aye; Brian Petersen: aye; Vance Phillips: aye; Brad Pick: aye; Keith Radig aye; Devlun Whiteing: aye;. Motion carried (6:0).

X. Additional Comments:

- a. Next Meeting: January 23, 2024, at 9:50 a.m.
- b. Tentative Meeting Schedule:
 - o March 27, 2025
 - o May 22, 2025
 - o June 26, 2025
- XI. **Adjournment**: Keith Radig closed the meeting at 10:00 a.m.