Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC)

Wednesday, November 6, 2024, at 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aaron Lincoln, Chair Tom Rohe, Vice Chair Jason Allen Jerry Buum Gordon Phair Laura Sievers Andrew Tramp Jill Wanderscheid City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa Plymouth County, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System Union County, South Dakota City of Sioux City, Iowa Woodbury County, Iowa Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota City of Sioux City, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Travis Halm Sarah Tracy Greg Heitmann Steve Gramm Jarrod Walker Kane McClelland John Forman

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Brian Pearson, Transit Director Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner Bess Seaman, Regional Planner Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant Department of Transportation – IA Department of Transportation – IA Federal Highway Administration – SD Department of Transportation – SD Department of Transportation – NE Department of Transportation – NE Ulteig

SIMPCO SRTS/SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, November 6, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via in person, at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, and via zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. <u>Roll Call/Introductions:</u> Chair Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II.** <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting agenda of November 6, 2024.

Gordon Phair moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes. **III.** <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting minutes of September 4, 2024.

Jason Allen moved to approve the meeting minutes presented, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Motion carried all ayes.

- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence</u>: Corinne Erickson provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2025-2028 TIP for a discussion and recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - Iowa DOT bridge repair on I-129 over the Missouri River (TPMS #52564) in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$9,500,000 with \$7,600,000 Federal participation (NHPP) in FY 2025
 - South Dakota DOT Wildlife Crossing Pilot Program Statewide Planning Study needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$500,000 with \$400,000 Federal participation in FY 2025.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. <u>Resolution 2025-8: Approval of Pavement and Bridge Measures (PM2) & System and</u> <u>Freight Reliability Measures (PM3) Targets:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented the PM2 and PM3 targets for adoption by the MPO.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve Resolution 2025-8 as presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Laura Sievers: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye. Motion carried all ayes.

VIII. <u>Resolution 2025-9: Approval of Federal Functional Classification (FFC) for the</u> <u>Nebraska portion of the MPO:</u> Ryan Brauer presented the proposed changes to the Nebraska FFC map for review and recommendation to the Policy Board.

Gordon Phair moved to approve Resolution 2025-9 as presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Laura Sievers: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye. Motion carried all ayes. **IX.** <u>Resolution 2025-10 Approval of MPO/RPA Planning Boundary:</u> Ryan Brauer presented the planning boundary of the SIMPCO MPO and the Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association (SRTPA) for approval.

Gordon Phair moved to approve Resolution 2025-10, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Laura Sievers: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye. Motion carried all ayes.

X. <u>Iowa Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG), Carbon Reduction Program (CRP), &</u> <u>Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Deadlines and Application Process:</u> Ryan Brauer presented the STBG, CRP, and TAP deadlines and application for review and recommendation to the Policy Board. Ryan noted that the applications will be distributed on January 10 with a due date of February 7. He also noted the allocation of funds to projects will take place at the March MPO meetings.

Laura Sievers moved to approve the application process and deadlines presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

- XI.Resolution 2025-11 FY 2025 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)Amendment: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment to the FY 2025TPWP for review and recommendation to the Policy Board.
 - Nebraska Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Section 5303 planning funds needs to be programmed for a total cost of \$15,179.

Jason Allen moved to approve the amendment as presented, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Laura Sievers: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye. Motion carried all ayes.

XII. <u>2050 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Draft Chapters 1& 2:</u> Nathan Kistner presented draft Chapter 1: Introduction and Bess Seaman presented draft Chapter 2: Community Overview of the 2050 LRTP for review and comments. Staff noted draft chapters of the LRTP will be on the MPO meeting agendas until all chapters have been reviewed and approved.

XIII. Additional comments -

- Next Meeting Wednesday, January 8, 2025, at 1:30 p.m.
- Upcoming Meetings
 - March 5, 2025
 - o May 7, 2025

XIV. <u>Adjournment</u>: Gordon Phair moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Jason Allen. Chair Lincoln closed the meeting at 2:30 p.m.