### Minutes

### SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Policy Board

Thursday, November 7, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Ken Beaulieu, Chair Keith Radig, Vice Chair Craig Anderson Gary Bogenrief (substitute for Kodi Benson) Ron Hansen (substitute for Carol Clark) Mike Dailey Bob Giese Dan Moore Mike Tokarczyk Dakota Dunes CID, SD Woodbury County, IA Plymouth County, IA City of North Sioux City, SD City of Sergeant Bluff, IA Union County, SD Dakota County, NE City of Sioux City, IA Sioux City Transit System

#### **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:**

Levi Briggs (substitute for Sarah Gilkerson) Jessica Felix Sarah Tracy

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Brian Pearson, Transit Director Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant Department of Transportation – SD Department of Transportation – IA Department of Transportation – IA

SIMPCO SIMPCO/SRTS SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, November 7, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. Chair, Ken Beaulieu, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. <u>Roll Call</u>: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- **II.** <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to November 7, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda as presented, second by Keith Radig. Motion carried all ayes.

**III.** <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 5, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the minutes as presented, second by Gary Bogenrief. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV.** <u>**Review Monthly Correspondence:**</u> Corinne Erickson provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented the following Amendments to the FY 2025-2028 TIP. She noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.
  - 1. Iowa DOT bridge repair on I-129 over the Missouri River (TPMS #52564) in Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$9,500,000 with \$7,600,000 in Federal participation (NHPP) in FY 2025.
  - 2. South Dakota DOT Wildlife Crossing Pilot Program Statewide Planning Study needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$500,000 with \$400,000 Federal participation in FY 2025

*Keith Radig moved to approve the amendments presented, second by Mike Dailey. Motion carried all ayes.* 

VII. <u>Resolution 2025-8 Approval of Pavement and Bridge Measures (PM2) & System and</u> <u>Freight Reliability Measures (PM3) Targets:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented the PM2 and PM3 targets for adoption by the MPO. She noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2025-8 as presented, second by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Gary Bogenrief: aye; Ron Hansen: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Bob Giese: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

VIII. <u>Resolution 2025-9 Approval of Federal Functional Classification (FFC ) for the</u> <u>Nebraska portion of MPO:</u> Ryan Brauer presented the FFC map for approval. He noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2025-9 as presented, second by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Gary Bogenrief: aye; Ron Hansen: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Bob Giese: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (9:0). **IX.** <u>Resolution 2025-10 Approval of MPO/RPA Planning Boundary</u>: Ryan Brauer presented the planning boundary of the SIMPCO MPO and SRTPA for approval. Ryan noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Keith Radig moved to approve Resolution 2025-10 as presented, second by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Gary Bogenrief: aye; Ron Hansen: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Bob Giese: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

X. <u>Iowa Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG), Carbon Reduction Program (CRP), &</u> <u>Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Deadlines and Application Process</u>: Ryan Bruer presented STBG, CRP and TAP application process and deadline for approval. Ryan noted applications would be sent out on January 10 with a due date of February 7. He also noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Dan Moore made a positive recommendation for approval, second by Keith Radig, Motion carried all ayes.

- XI.Resolution 2025-11 FY 2025 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)Amendment:Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment for approval.She noted the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.
  - 1. Nebraska Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Section 5303 planning funds need to be programmed for a total cost of \$15,179.

# Dan Moore left meeting.

Keith Radig moved to approve the amendment presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Gary Bogenrief: aye; Ron Hansen: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Bob Giese: aye: Mike Tokarczyk: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

XII. <u>2050 Long range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Draft Chapters 1 & 2</u>: Nathan Kistner and Bess Seaman presented draft Chapter 1 and draft Chapter 2 for review and comment. Bess noted Chapter 2 will be brough back to the board to show updated graphics, maps and tables to allow review of updated information.

# XIII. Additional Comments:

- Next Meeting January 9, 2025 at 1:30 p.m.
- Upcoming Meetings
  - o March 6, 2025
  - o May 8, 2025

# XIV. <u>Adjournment</u>: Vice-Chair Radig adjourned the meeting at 2:25 p.m.