SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA)

Policy Board Minutes Thursday, May 23, 2024, 9:30 a.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Gary Horton, Chair

Vince Phillips

Bryan Petersen

Plymouth County, Iowa

Monona County, Iowa

Cherokee County, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS/GUESTS:

Travis Halm Iowa Department of Transportation
Jessica Felix Iowa Department of Transportation

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director SIMPCO

Brian Pearson, Transit Director SIMPCO/SRTS

Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager
Dawn Kimmel, Regional Planner II
SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Policy Board met on Thursday, May 23, 2024, at 9:30 a.m. via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present.

Chair Gary Horton called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>: Chair Horton asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 23, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Bryan Petersen moved to approve the regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Vince Philips. Motion carried with all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u>: Chair Horton asked if there were any additions or corrections to the March 28, 2024, regular meeting minutes.

Bryan Petersen moved to approve the regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Gary Horton. Motion carried with all ayes.

- III. **Review Monthly Correspondence**: Corinne Erickson presented pertinent correspondence since the March 28, 2024, Policy Board meeting.
- IV. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: Policy Board members and staff provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the region.

- V. FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments and Administrative Modifications: Michelle Bostinelos noted that there were no amendments or administrative modifications brought forward from the TAC. No action was taken.
- VI. <u>FY 2025-2028 Draft Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)</u>: Corinne presented the Draft FY 2025-2028 TIP. She asked members to review the Draft TIP and submit any necessary corrections, changes, or additions and/or deletions to SIMPCO staff on or before June 3, 2024. Corinne noted the TIP public input meeting will be held at the Sioux City Public Library on June 11, 2024, from 4-5 p.m.
- VII. Resolution 2024-4 FY 2024-4 Final FY 2025 Transportation Planning Work Program:
 Michelle Bostinelos presented the final FY 2025 TPWP in conformance with the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and the Department of Transportation. Michelle noted that no comments were received during the public comment period. Michelle also noted that the TAC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Bryan Petersen moved to approve Resolution 2024-4 as presented, seconded by Vince Phillips. Roll call vote: Gary Horton: aye; Vince Phillips: aye; Bryan Petersen: aye. Motion carried (3:0).

VIII. <u>Resolution 2024-5 Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP):</u> Dawn Kimmel presented the Policy Board members with the final FY 2025-2029 PTP. Dawn noted the TAC made a positive recommendation or approval.

Vince Phillips moved to approve Resolution 2024-5 as presented, seconded by Bryan Petersen. Roll call vote: Gary Horton: aye; Vince Phillips: aye; Bryan Petersen: aye. Motion carried (3:0).

IX. <u>2050 Long Range Transportation Plan Draft Chapter 5: Transportation Strengths,</u>

<u>Opportunities, Weaknesses, and Threats:</u> Corinne Erickson presented the Policy Board members with the draft Chapter 5 of the LRTP for review and comment. Corinne noted the final plan will be brough forward for approval in November.

X. Additional Comments:

- a. TIP Public Meeting: Tuesday, June 11, 2024, Sioux City Public Library Security National Bank Conference Room 4-5 p.m.
- b. Next Meeting: June 27, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.
- c. Tentative Meeting Schedule:
 - i. September 26, 2024

- ii. November 21, 2024
- iii. January 23, 2025
- iv. March 27, 2025
- v. May 22, 2025
- vi. June 25, 2025
- XI. **Adjournment**: Bryan Petersen moved to adjourn, seconded by Gary Horton. Chair Horton closed the meeting at 10:00 a.m.